Hearty beet and egg salad

Before I got married I didn’t know how to cook. That’s the honest truth.

My husband basically said to me ,in the most matter of fact, no BS tone, “I am going to starve”.

After several epic fails and almost-misses, I finally started understanding how to decipher a recipe. I still need help with my knife skills, but if I can do it anyone can.

I am finally getting into my groove now, six years into my marriage. (Rome wasn’t built in a day.) The good news is – no one has died from my cooking. The even better news is – I often get compliments on my cooking (although very seldom from my husband unless the recipe involves copious amounts of meat. Think Taradactyl burgers lol).

Anyway, I am happy to share my simple and sometimes Food Network-inspired recipes. Give them a whirl, there’s can’t-miss, mommy proof dishes!

Grab a bowl and off you go 

What you will need:

Spring mix greens (you decide on the quantities)

1 tomato, cut into slices (to your own liking)

2 hard boiled eggs (Yes, you will need to boil them ahead of time – or retrieve them from your fridge) (and nobody said making the perfect hard boiled egg was easy – here’s the instructions on that.

1 to 2 cooked beets (again you need to prepare ahead of time, but super easy. Wrap with tin foil, roast at 350′ for about an hour or so, let cool down, unwrap, peel skin with a grater, slice and – voila)

1 teaspoon of olive oil

1 teaspoon of white balsamic vinegar (I know – fancy!)

Salt & pepper to taste

Put all ingredients in your bowl, mix around and there you go. An awesome salad in just about five minutes.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

