40 is the new baby

40 is the new baby – It’s our tag line – it’s our life – it’s real.

FEATUREUrban suburban mommy.CR2.p

When I visited my new OBGYN when I was pregnant with my second child, he told me that the median age for women at his practice having children these days was 41.

I said “REALLY???” He said “Yes.”

I guess it makes sense because nowadays we are focused on building careers, getting married later and well… procreating way later.

All I wanted for my 40th birthday was another baby. So I guess I was now part of this growing population of median-aged moms.

What I will tell you about having a baby later in life is this – you definitely don’t have the energy of a 20 year old, so you better find it somewhere. That means focusing on sleeping when you can and getting in shape so that you are ready for childbirth and for chasing that toddler around. When you are fit during pregnancy, the chances of having a healthy delivery definitely increase. Recovery after childbirth is certainly a lot faster, too.

What else does 40 bring? It brings the challenges of breaking of old habits that you established in your 20s and 30s. If you want to survive, you’ll have to end – or at least diminish – your old wild ways. Not saying you did, and not saying you didn’t, but the late night date nights, drinking, all-night dancing, champagne brunches and girl weekends that put rockstars to shame have to fall by the wayside. Your very active social life definitely gets scaled back.

40 brings grey hairs and wrinkles. Sometimes sagging skin. Usually a prescription for glasses, or at least a pair of drugstore reading glasses. But because you worked damn hard in your 20s and 30s, you can afford dying your hair, expensive night creams and Gucci specs.

I hope 40 brings a little wisdom and worldliness to the parenting table. I know that because I was a late bloomer, I was able to travel and experience life, which definitely makes me a different kind of parent than I would have been in my 20s.

40 also brings discerning taste. I have had the chance to try and do different things, so I am pretty particular as a parent as to what I do with my children.

Whatever age, being a parent is a gift and a blessing. Cherish it. There is no manual for parenting. Try your best. Love big and embrace the journey. We’re doing it different than our parents did. We’re older, wiser, more established and more worldly. Our kids are better off for it. 40 is the new baby.

2 thoughts

  1. This is so true. I am almost 40 with a new baby and two teenagers. I like to say I re-enlisted! When I got pregnant, I read all these horrible things about my ‘geriatric pregnancy’. (What jerk coined that term?!) But my OB-Gyn said my age was not even worth a second thought.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

