Bath or shower?

I think my love of baths must be genetic. I have always been a bather. I would bathe for hours while I wrote term papers. I would take ‘bird baths’ – quick little baths instead of a shower – before going out. I’m a bath bomber, I’m a bubbler, I’m a three-reheater and I think my little muppets have inherited the bath genes.

bath or shower
photo by: Iain Watson

We’re not the nightly bath type of family. Honestly, I don’t know who has time for that between playdates, swimming, karate, grocery shopping and homework. But I can never figure out whether baths or showers are better for the boys.

Showers are definitely faster but baths are far more fun.

I love a good, long bath, and so do my kids. But a bath turns into an hour of splashing and playing and toys in the water and a sopping wet floor. The problem is, I’m not comfortable leaving them in the tub without watching them.

They’re too big to bathe together – not too old, just too big. And I cannot spend 2 hours letting them bathe, one after the next. Showers aren’t their favourite, so they’re fast and easy, but the boys only put up with them grudgingly.

What do you do?

 

Leave a Reply

