Life Lessons courtesy of my mom

And so the story goes – there was a young woman in her twenties who wanted a baby so very badly.  She tried for many years and could not conceive.  She made a promise with herself and with the higher being,that if she was lucky enough to have a baby that she would be the best mother in the world and that she would do everything for this baby.  After 7 long years of visits to the doctor and trying, the woman now close to her thirties, gave birth to a baby girl.

mom

The promise of loving this baby girl, protecting her and guiding her through life has always been kept – even 41 years later.

I am grateful for this promise – I am so lucky for the special bond that my mom and I have from birth till today.  My mom is my pillar. She is my greatest example of dignity, honesty, strength, perseverance, loyalty and unconditional love.

Today I celebrate her and I share with you some wonderful life lessons she taught me:

  1. Never Give Up
  2. No matter what you feel like, get up, get dressed, put on your make up and fake it even if you don’t feel great
  3. Be Honest
  4. Although not her saying – it was always repeated to me – “Tis better to have loved and lost than to never have loved at all” (Alfred Lord Tennyson).
  5. Another saying – which she even reminded me of this morning as I complained of being up all night with my little one because of teething, “This too shall pass

Thank you mom for being my best friend and always lifting me up when I am down, even if it causes you to suffer. You are a remarkable woman.

Happy early Birthday too. I hope all your wishes and dreams come true.

Love you always,

Michi xo

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

