Asian-inspired Miami short ribs

Suburban Mommy Michelle:

I love, love, love me some good ribs.  I actually prefer beef ribs to pork ribs and have always loved the the thinly cut Miami short ribs (you may also know them as Korean barbecue ribs). Yes, they are a lot more expensive – but they are less fatty and so tasty!

miami short ribs plated

I have to thank my sister-in-law Leilani for this delectable and fool-proof recipe.  It is so easy and fast. I prefer to cook them in the oven but have also barbecued them and they also turn out amazing. The best part is – the recipe only requires 3 ingredients and does’t need to be marinated ahead of time. Of course, if you do marinate, the meat becomes a lot more tender and even more delicious.

What you need:

pack of ribs
You can find packs in the meat section, or you can ask the butcher to cut them – as for “Miami” style or “Korean barbecue” style

– 16 ribs – about 4 strips of ribs per person is a good gauge
– Low-sodium soy sauce
-Teriyaki sauce

What you do:

Pre-heat your oven to 350°F. Take a large baking dish and cover the bottom with tin foil.  Place the ribs side by side. Pour 3 to 4 tablespoons of the soy sauce over the ribs.  Then pour 4 to 6 tablespoons of Teriyaki sauce over the ribs.  You will just need to make sure that all the ribs have been covered with sauce. Flip the ribs over with tongs and repeat the steps above. Put the ribs in the oven for 30 to 40 minutes.  At around 15 minutes, flip the ribs over so that they cook on the other side.

Of course, we recommend eating these finger-licking good ribs with a side of her foolproof rice. Add some veggies and you are good to go!  This is definitely a special treat meal.

Urban Mommy Elisa adds:

I grew up with my mom making these once in a blue moon. They were always such a treat but she didn’t make them often. I do though, and my family loves them – each and every one of them cleans their plate! And these are always a hit with guests.

I prefer making them on the grill. I put all of the ingredients in a bowl and toss the ribs to coat. I do like to let them sit and marinate, so I will usually prep this in the morning, or night before. I throw them onto the barbecue on high. These have to be watched carefully on the barbecue. You need to keep turning them as the bottoms caramelize. They’re thin, so it doesn’t take much fire to cook them through, it’s probably less than 20 minutes of ‘cuing.

I often cheat and buy the sauce pre-made in a jar (makes it easy to do a quick morning marinade) but I’ve just tried Michelle’s recipe and I’m never buying pre-made again!)

mmmmmmmmmmmm

 

Leave a Reply

